A few words from our programmer

Monday 12 September 2022

A few words from our programmer

Finding the best way to describe the entirety of one’s programming is a tall order; hence I will attempt it in numbers: 397 films viewed, 48 films selected, of which 32 are fiction, 9 animated films, 7 documentaries… Except that numbers merely serve as a ‘straitjacket’ creating meaningless categories. In fact, animation lends itself equally to fiction as to documentary and you will discover a selection of genres as improbable as a science-fiction rom-com, an animated opera drawn in charcoal, a Christmas thriller and an experimental documentary about a peaceful flock of sheep. See what I mean?

To hell with numbers and categories! All you need to know for 2022 is that cinematographic creation from across the channel is alive and kicking. At its base, British film is a cinematic art anchored in real life, able to study, observe, dissect, denounce or mock the slightest nuances as well as dramatic upheavals of society. In terms of form, shorts have the most freedom: not tethered by commercial distribution chains and free from exterior pressures, filmmakers can express themselves on any subject - from the most intimate to the most universal – exploring all formats. For our enjoyment as much as their filmmakers, shorts can thumb their nose at these creative constraints, which neatly brings me back to my initial ‘straitjacket’ metaphor (now thrown off) and I hope a successful description of this year’s programme.

I want to offer my heartfelt thanks to the team at This is England who put their trust in me with the programme and gave me carte blanche in its curation. It is with great pride (and a few butterflies) that I unveil it today.

Finally, I want to thank and congratulate the selected films’ production teams, in eager anticipation of doing it in ‘real life’ during November 12-20th.

Fanny Popieul

 

LATEST POSTS

Inauguration of Omnia Cinema

Wednesday 07 September 2022


Here we are! Here we are!

Wednesday 31 August 2022


Coming soon!

Tuesday 30 August 2022


Here we are again!

Sunday 19 June 2022


Only one month left Only one month left

Saturday 28 May 2022

Le mot de la programmatrice

Lundi 12 Septembre 2022

Le mot de la programmatrice

Trouver les mots pour définir une programmation dans sa globalité relève de la gageure, c'est pourquoi je vais tenter de m'en remettre aux chiffres : 397 films visionnés, 48 films retenus, dont 32 fictions, 9 films d'animation et 7 documentaires... Sauf que les chiffres ne font qu'enfermer des films dans le carcan de catégories vides de sens. En effet, l'animation se prête aussi bien à la fiction qu'au documentaire, et vous découvrirez dans la sélection des genres aussi improbables qu'une rom-com de science-fiction, un opéra animé au fusain, un thriller de Noël et un docu expérimental sur un paisible troupeau de moutons.

Bref, on n'a pas avancé.

Au diable les chiffres et autres catégories ! Ce qu'il faut retenir de cette programmation 2022, c'est que la création cinématographique d'outre-Manche est toujours en grande forme. Sur le fond, le cinéma britannique est un cinéma fermement ancré dans le réel qui scrute, observe, décortique, dénonce ou raille le moindre soubresaut de la société. Sur la forme, le court-métrage est la plus libre de toutes les formes de cinéma : sans circuit de distribution commerciale, il est exempt de toute pression extérieure, et les cinéastes libres de s'exprimer sur tous les sujets, du plus intime au plus universel, d'explorer tous les formats et, pour notre plus grand plaisir comme pour le leur, de faire fi de tous les carcans.

Et hop ! La métaphore du carcan est bouclée...

Je remercie du fond du cœur l'équipe de This is England de m'avoir accordé sa confiance et donné carte blanche pour la conception de cette programmation. C'est avec une immense fierté (et un peu de trac, aussi) que je la dévoile aujourd'hui.

Je remercie et félicite, bien entendu, les équipes des films sélectionnés, en attendant de pouvoir le faire "en vrai", du 12 au 20 novembre prochain.

Fanny Popieul

 

Dernière actualité

La bande annonce arrive bientôt

Lundi 03 Octobre 2022


Projection Moteur, réseau des festivals

Dimanche 02 Octobre 2022


Les films communs Norwich-Rouen Les films communs Norwich-Rouen

Mercredi 28 Septembre 2022


Inauguration du Cinéma Omnia

Mercredi 07 Septembre 2022


Here we are! Here we are!

Mercredi 31 Aout 2022